Class Reflection-One Shot Workshop

My first thought about this class was I really wish we’d had more time. Twenty minutes even with the time planned out just feels far too rushed. The five groups covered an array of great topics, two takes on copyright policy from the point of view of K-12 teachers and academic librarians, balancing the library culture and then talk of the Code of Ethics. Kayla and I presented on the issue of accessibility in libraries, which was a great topic since it really got everyone thinking.

All of the workshops were run in really different ways, a few of us had powerpoint presentations as the hear of our workshops while some of them focused on just discussion. I think a combination of the two along with handouts seems to work the best in terms of keeping the audience involved and make sure they’re getting the most from the experience. Since too much of the one or the other can be either boring or end up rather chaotic since discussions can get out of control and take over while slide presentations can veer into the lecture format. I think after this I would be able to run a workshop since it left me feeling confident about connecting with an audience in this format and I learned some new ideas of how to present information.

2 Comments

Filed under professional practice reflection

2 responses to “Class Reflection-One Shot Workshop

  1. Emily Johnson

    I too wished we had more time, or maybe smaller cohorts, so that I didn’t feel like I was being dumped on with information. It really did make me look forward to working with people again, because I’ve missed the customer service interaction in the school environment.

Leave a Reply

