What’s your hill?-Scheduling and Priorities

What’s your hill to die on is quickly becoming one of my favorite ways of talking about how you decide your priorities. I think it captures a lot about how contentious things can get in a school and in a library as different ideas of what’s the best policy and way to do things collide. I had never expected scheduling to capture just how important knowing what your priorities are though.

For me scheduling is always something that I’m not that good at doing, I’ll try but things change and so I tend to find a way to make things work instead of expecting things to change. So the idea that deciding will I eat lunch, will I be the mediator for all these shared spaces through the medium of a schedule is a little terrifying. Though it does tie into the fact that libraries tend to be powerful community spaces that are used for far more than just reading or research and so being aware of all these issues and what choices you’ll make in terms of controlling them really struck me.

I’ve been in the position of being a mediator before and I know how key it is for some people to have someone to go to that they see as slightly outside of whatever the issue is and so being that person can mean you end up knowing a lot about what’s going on in the community. Yet its one of those things that you need to make sure that it doesn’t become too much of what you do, because someone with a grievance is not going to respect your schedule, they just want to vent and have someone else fix it.

Also I find it fascinating how much of these scheduling issues are much more abstract in terms of what we read as in this is what you should do but not as much about how to do it, at least in the AASL standards. I hope we talk more about this idea of how to find your allies and create these balances for all the things a librarian needs to do.

3 Comments

Filed under school library management reflection

3 responses to “What’s your hill?-Scheduling and Priorities

  1. I think I’ve said “hill to die on” more than a few times since the start of this class, and not always related to SLM. 🙂 Scheduling is so personal. Ultimately you’re the manager of your time, the controller of the alarm clock… but someone or something (i.e. library access policy or inconsiderate teachers) tries to reset the time without your permission, it can be angering.

  2. Its one of those phrases that just captures a lot really simply and can say so much.

    Those times when someone says oh let’s meet someplace that’s farther for you than me and doesn’t think about it. It also sums out just how important knowing what your own priorities are.

  3. Kristin

    Wish I could claim “hill to die on” as my own invention, but all credit goes to Marcia Mardis, from whom there are reams of valuable information to learn.

    One thing that good school librarians have to be — and this was very hard for me to get used to — is flexible. When you’re on the clock, your time is everybody’s time.

Leave a Reply

